Heigham Community Federation Governors

Recreation Road Infant and Avenue Junior Schools have partnered together to create the Heigham Community Federation.  The federation has one governing board, formed from representatives of parents, staff, the community and the Local Authority.

Avenue Junior School

The governing board’s role is to oversee the work of the school, to support and challenge it and to help it plan for the future.

Together governors:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Hold the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

Our Governors are currently:

  • Michael Bunting, Head Teacher Governor
  • Jen Carlin, Associate Governor
  • Mike Grimble (Co-Chair), Co-opted Governor
  • Mike Hooper, Associate Governor
  • Denise Mattock, Associate Governor
  • Laura Harris, Co-opted Governor
  • Judith Mayne, Co-opted Governor
  • Rachel Paley, Co-opted Governor
  • Pamela Reynell (Co-Chair), Co-opted Governor
  • Sam Rowbury, Co-opted Governor
  • Jo Thompson, Local Authority Governor
  • Jamie Wallis, Parent Governor
  • Victoria Younespour, Parent Governor

The Federation operates a ‘collapsed model’ of governance.  It doesn’t have committees; instead it has monthly Full Governing Board Meetings. Approved minutes of these meetings are available on this webpage, or upon request from the school office.

Please call the school office if you wish to contact one of our governors.

Recreation Road Infant School 01603 457120

Avenue Junior School 01603 441034


NameDesignationTerm FromTerm ToVoting rights?
Michael BuntingHead Teacherex officio Y
Jen CarlinAssociate01/09/202131/08/2025N
Mike Grimble (Co-Chair)Co-opted01/09/202131/08/2025Y
Mike HooperAssociate01/09/2021N
Denise MattockAssociate01/09/2022 N
Laura HarrisCo-opted01/09/202331/08/2027Y
Judith MayneCo-opted01/09/202331/08/2027Y
Rachel PaleyCo-opted01/09/202131/08/2025Y
Pamela Reynell (Co-Chair)Co-opted26/09/202225/09/2026Y
Sam RowburyCo-opted26/09/202225/09/2026Y
Jo ThompsonLocal Authority25/10/202224/10/2026Y
Jamie WallisParent17/11/202116/11/2025Y
Victoria YounespourParent22/10/202121/10/2025Y